27 May 2018, 19:43 [ UTC - 5; DST ]

DShannon Aviation (banner)

Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Username Protected Message
 Post subject: New Private Pilot trying to build time...affordably
PostPosted: 20 Apr 2018, 21:49 

Post Likes: +1
Hi all,

This is my first post on Beech Talk, so go easy on me if I'm not in the right place.

As the title implies, I'm a newly-minted private pilot based in north central Florida. Now that I've gotten my license, I'm ready to begin flying as regularly as I can to stay both current and proficient.

My only options for airplane access at this time are the rentals from the Part 61 flight school I attended. While these aircraft are more than capable of being great time-builders, the rental rates are high, the availability is low, and if you want to take an overnight trip there are hourly minimums that make the trip add-up rather quickly.

While I'm not here to discuss the flight school business model, I am curious about other ways to fly regularly. I am not interested in purchasing a plane as I am not sure which type of plane is right for me, and I don't want to get stuck with a dreaded money-pit. I'm also weary about equity-based flying clubs as I do not intend to live in this region for much longer, and I don't want to be faced with trying to sell a partial share of an airplane. I've heard such a task can be a nightmare. I'm looking for more of a non-equity approach.