19 Nov 2017, 15:44 [ UTC - 5; DST ]

Garmin International (Banner)

Reply to topic  [ 160 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
Username Protected Message
 Post subject: Sensorcon Carbon Monoxide Detector Discount
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2017, 01:00 

Post Likes: +85
Aircraft: Mooney 231
A few weeks ago I survived a crash in my Mooney that was caused by Carbon Monoxide poisoning. I am an experienced pilot who never thought something like this would happen to me. I was always aware of the possibility of CO poisoning but was naive thinking I would know when it was happening. As it turns out, I didn't. If I had a good low-level detector, it would have not only prevented my accident but alerted me to the problem well before it was dangerous. For more info on my accident see "Minnesota plane down" thread in Crash Talk.

There are a lot of great detectors on the market, both portable and panel mounted units. I have been talking with one manufacture, Sensorcon. They have agreed to a 20% discount for pilots by way of a coupon code. This offer is good on any of their products. Please consider purchasing one of these or another similar detector. There is a temptation to use a cheep home detector. These are better than nothing, but I don't believe they are adequate for aviation use. They alarm at much too high of levels.

Below is a re post of my thread over on Mooneyspace with the details of the discount buy.

Everyone,

The folks at Sensorcon are willing to pass along a 20% discount to pilots on all of their products. At checkout use the code below.

http://sensorcon.com/collections/carbon-monoxide-meters

Discount code: aircraft2017

I'm going with the "industrial" and am going to add the Pump kit. I like the vibrating alarm and the pump kit will help with troubleshooting various applications(home, aviation, boating, etc.) In my opinion, every A&P should have one in the tool box.