banner

28 Mar 2024, 13:51 [ UTC - 5; DST ]

Concorde Battery (banner)

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Username Protected Message
 Post subject: New Member from Maryland
PostPosted: 14 May 2021, 18:11 

Post Likes: +24
Hello all and thank you for the acceptance.

My name is Jim. I am 60yo from Maryland.

I am a new pilot, not yet with my PPL but going for my check ride next week or the week after.

I will then transition to get my IFR.

My oldest son (22) has his PPL and my youngest (19) will get his very soon as well. He had to take a break due to the Spring Semester. They also will transition to get their IFR asap.

We all decided to take up flying as a hobby to do together. Early on with them, I wanted something we could all share together. So we took up roller coasters, scuba and golf. Now its flying.

We all love to fly and my youngest is heading to CA to play baseball this summer and the oldest and I are going to fly around the country for 3-4 weeks and will stop by to see the youngest. We plan on Memphis, New Orleans, Houston, Vegas, El Paso, Palm Springs, LA. Then back.

So we have been looking for planes. A few friends have Cessnas and Pipers but they do not have the payload we would need if we all flew together. So I started to look at Bonanzas. I was a bit hesitant due to it being a complex and HP plane and we are new pilots. I didnt want to buy a "too" powerful plane and yet at the same time, I didnt want to keep "buying up" every few years. But after reading some threads, it seems like there are many new pilots that have bought a Bonanza as their first. So it may be a great fit.

I have looked at a few in person and online. I would rather pay a bit more now and have the
plane not need many upgrades than to keep putting $$ into a plane. or upgrading to a newer one. But with that comes many questions.

I will be reading this forum extensively and posting many questions.